top of page
Search
Jeanie Lee

My Love And Hate With Korea

Updated: Apr 2, 2019

When I first moved to Seoul, everything was new to me, so I took many things with a grain of salt. Of course, I was excited that I was in a new place, so things didn't bother me so much.

Well as time passed (living in Seoul for two years), I've started to either hate or love things about the culture, just like any other place.

Here are my top 10 things I love and hate about Seoul.


Top 10 things I Hate About Korea


10. DATING SUCKS

I'm from NYC and dating sucks there, BUT the dating in Korea is WORSE! The types of guys I've met are mostly military men and English teachers; but there were a few white collar workers, vacationers, and expats from other Asian countries. However, a majority of these men are not looking for anything long term since they are here for a short time. After two years of dating foreigners and having no connection with them, I've decided to cross over and date a few Korean guys.

Unfortunately, these guys have the misconception that foreign girls are easy, so they are only looking to bang bang sha-bang. A few of my foreign girlfriends have told me that Korean men have asked them to go to a "love motel," or a "DVD room," on their initial meeting. If you're looking to date a Korean guy, be very careful. Usually, Korean men only want to ride the "white dam" or the "black horse," which is a phrase used for sexual intercourse with a foreigner. Koreans like to stick to their own, and it's looked down upon if you date outside of the Korean race. Although the culture is changing, it still has a long way to go.


Image by Denys Nevozhai

9. CREEPER JEEPERS

Koreans love to get intoxicated to the point of no return, which might explain their mannerisms. But some of these Koreans tend to get all weird, almost to a crazy person status without alcohol. I've had an old man approach me and start talking to me and have a full blown conversation with the side of my face. I am fluent in Korean, so I understood everything.


There is no personal space in Korea!! Another time, an old man started talking to me and caressing my hand on the bus. My foreign guy friends had to step in, but because of "Korean law" foreigners aren't protected in this country, so we had to be all nice about the situation. Whereas in NYC, I would have bitch-smacked the guy.


Image by Kaique Rocha

8. BLIND EYE

If you're a foreigner, DO NOT, I mean, DO NOT think of helping anyone in distress! Well, unless it's another foreigner, then it is OK! New Yorkers might be considered very rude by outsiders, but if we see someone hurt, a person in a physical altercation with the opposite gender or someone in need; it's our instinct to stop and make sure they are ok. In Korea, if you get involved, you may be liable, and it can be a dangerous situation for you legally. Therefore, many Koreans tend to turn the blind eye. It's so absurd!


7. STOP SHORT

AHH, something that ALL Koreans do!!! If you're walking, beware. People tend just to stop!!! I am not used to this, especially coming from the busiest city in the world people are always on the go-go-go. If you decide you need to stop, you walk to the side, get out of the way for other pedestrians. But people in Korea will be walking and just stop to find a place or to look at something etc. If you're a passerby not paying attention, you will most likely walk into them.

CUSTOMER SERVICE FRIENDLINESS


6. CUSTOMER SERVICE FRIENDLINESS

The customer service at restaurants is a bit shitty here. I've worked in the hospitality industry for about 15+ years. Also, I've traveled to many places around the world, so I’ve witnessed different habits and culture, especially in the restaurant industry. In Korea, many restaurant workers seem like they don't want to be bothered by customers. The establishments have buzzers on the table to get the waiters attention, and they will come to you, but customer friendliness is not there. For a thriving city, you would think they would want to make money, as well as have a customer return to their establishment.  But it doesn't seem that way. This only applies to regular Korean restaurants. The exception is, of course, at a five-star spot, where you will get the top-notch service or western style establishment.


The buzzer on the table at a restaurant

5. SECURITY SYSTEM

Paranoia!?!? Korea has so many security steps to sign up for online banking, discount cards, and to order food or merchandise online. They are afraid of being hacked, so they ask you for all this personal information such as your alien registration number or country ID number, your data, and then they need to send you a pin to your phone number to verify. Finally, you use the pin to register then they send you an email to confirm your registration. I mean, come on I just want to get a discount card to get a rebate at the grocery store! But nope I have to go through all these protocols just to get a discount card or to order groceries to be delivered to my place.


Image by Christoph Meinersmann

4. AIR QUALITY

I'm an active runner, and I miss running on the West Side Highway in Manhattan. I would wake up and go running at any time without having to check the air pollution level. Being an expat in Seoul, it has become my job to check the AQI (air quality index) website every morning. The air quality determines my activities for the day. Sometimes the pollution level can go up into the red zone (unhealthy). In the beginning, I got sick numerous times because I didn't know about the "yellow dust," and I went running. My friends were a bit concerned because I was sick every other week with respiratory issues.








API - Air Pollution Index
Bukhansan Mountain (API - Air Pollution Index)



3. CELLPHONE CRAZE

One of the most amazing things about Korea is the internet connection. You can be connected anywhere and everywhere, including on the train and in underground malls. But with the pros comes the cons. Everyone is on their phone; I noticed that most people are watching K-dramas or playing games. It's so bad that people will be watching TV and not look where they are walking. I've had people almost walk into me, and then look at me as if it's my fault. Save the K-drama for the home!


2. NO LINE

It doesn't mean that there are "no lines." Instead, Koreans don't believe in lines, so usually, it's a cluster f*ck. Waiting for the train, bus, to enter an establishment, to get food, etc. People do not wait their turn, but they all think it's automatically their turn. They won't acknowledge that you've been waiting there and proceed as if they are the only person around. Also, when you say something, they act surprised. It is very common especially with the older generation; they tend to believe they always have the right away.


AND THE NUMBER #1 is...................................


1. PUSHING

This comes hand in hand with "#2-no line." Since people don't believe in lines, they will push you to enter a subway car or to get into a place. Again, there is NO personal space. No one says, "Excuse me" to get your attention, so you have the chance to move or get out of their way. They will push right through you.



Top 10 Things I Love About Korea


10. SPOTLESS UNDERGROUND

The train and the stations are super-duper clean! The only place I've witnessed a decent subway system is in Hong Kong. But Korea takes the trophy! The metro stops running for about 5 hours (12 am to 5 am) for maintenance. One thing I will miss dearly moving back to the states.


The train going to Everland

9. SUPERSONIC WIFI

Korea has a high-speed internet connection; you can get on the web everywhere! If you’re visiting or living here, you can get a portable wifi egg (router) that is half the size of a smartphone. It will work anywhere!

 

8. FESTIVALS

Korea has a festival for every occasion~ Cherry Blossoms, Sea-Parting, Kimchi-Making, Snow and Ice Fishing, etc. There is always something going on, which is an excellent reason to explore Korea. Many travel companies have packages, so it is easy for locals and foreigners to attend them.


Caught a trout at Hwacheon Ice Festival

7. SOJU! SOJU! SOJU!

In NYC, a bottle of Soju would cost me about 10 USD or more. Here you can get it at a local convenience store for less than 1 USD. Also, drinking is allowed in public, many locals do not drink on public transit, but I've seen many foreigners do it.  The drinking culture is very BIG here. If a boss or an older person offers you a shot, you should not deny it. It's disrespectful, so you’d better take the shot or make believe you drank it. Also, shots are not supposed to be taken all at one time. Little sips are OK!



6. GOOD SAMARITANS

If you’ve ever left your belonging on the train, cab or at a bus stop, we automatically, assume that it would be gone. Well, in Korea you have a 99 percent chance that it will still be there or at a local police station. Many times, people are more than willing to make sure missing belongings are returned to the rightful owner. Other times, many people won't touch what doesn't belong to them. I've had a friend leave his backpack on the train, only to find that it was still there.


5. LOCKER STORAGE

There are lockers everywhere! At train stations, major grocery stores, department stores, etc. If you're carrying a load of things, you can store it in a locker till you are ready to go home. It's very convenient.


Lockers at Anyang Station

4. KAKAO TAXI

An app that allows you to reserve a city cab from wherever you are, without any extra fees or charges that are usually accrued by private taxi companies. The only downside is you must have a Korean number, but it's very convenient and tells you how long it will be till they arrive at your location.


3. TRANSIT SYSTEM

The transportation system is fantastic here! Not only is it clean but at almost every bus or train stop, you can see the arrival time. Also, there are apps (Jiachul, Metroid, KakaoBus) that show the location of the bus or train, so if you live close to a bus stop or a station you can schedule accordingly to catch the train or bus because we all know waiting outside in the rain is a drag. Who does that anymore?!?! Not in Korea!


Jihachal App on the iPhone

2. NO TIPPING

Koreans follows the NO-Tipping rule. Therefore, you do not have to tip your servers, cab drivers or delivery person. Something, I am going to miss moving back to the states.


1. YUMMY CHEAP FOOD

It's so cheap to eat! An individual can get a meal for about 5,000 KRW which is less than 5.00 USD. I cook at home, but sometimes, it easier to say, “Forget preparing food. I'll just grab a jeon or bibimbap at the local eatery.” It's very easy to get lazy and comfortable, especially, with cooking meals.


Kimchi pajeon in Hoegi area

Living in any country we have our personal likes and dislikes, and these are some of the things that have come up in conversation with other expats living here.  Of course, there are things that I am going to miss, as well as be happy to part ways with, but. Overall, I am grateful for the time I have spent here. It has been a great experience!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page